What Beauty Do You Discover When You Look Around?

Look around you. What do you see?

Well right now I’m in a dark office with half the lights off because for some reason IT people like to work in the dark. But as often as possible I take myself out into nature where I can connect with a feeling of peace I can’t seem to find anywhere else.

I have always spent a significant amount of time outside. In NH I explored trails all over, taking my golden retriever with me in all kinds of weather. I would trudge through knee deep snow while she happily pranced on top, running ahead of me with ease. Together we got lost on a trail in the middle of nowhere, alone with no cell service or map. We frequented places along a river or lake and she would chase sticks into the water. I should have spent more time exploring the mountains but it’s this regret that pushes me to explore further now.

She is no longer with me, but I still love going out into nature to observe wildlife. Where I live now is far more urban than where I used to live; it’s more urban than almost any place in NH actually. But there are many great parks and preserves to explore. I love the mangrove bays and many are accessible through hiking trails or on the water. There are several places where you can kayak through tunnels made out of the branches of mangrove trees.

There are rivers fed by springs where the water is so clear you can easily see schools of fish swimming by. I’ve watched otters playing on the shore and manatees floating near the docks. I’m warned of snakes and gators but I’ve never seen either.

IMG_2736

The beach is nearby and is beautiful any time of day, both sunrise and sunset are equally beautiful. Mid-morning is the perfect time to catch dolphins playing along the shore, in the photo just a black dot in the blue but in person a spectacular sight.

And when all else fails I can observe nature lurking at my house these days in the form of 4 frolicking kittens who you knew had to appear again today. This morning I was their tree and could barely keep them down long enough to snap a picture.

Pin this to save it for later!

This post is in response to the daily writing prompt Observe

31 thoughts on “What Beauty Do You Discover When You Look Around?”

    1. Here is pretty awesome! The kittens are adorable but now when I walk in the room where they stay (because I keep them separate from our cat) I am attacked like you wouldn’t believe 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. My grandparents lived in Danbury, NH. I spent many summers there ☺💜 We have had two goldens! Awesome dogs! Lived in FL for 20 years and loved exploring. Loved Cocoa Beach. My first wife and I would spend two weeks in Marathon on the Keys every anniversary. If she had lived we’d be celebrating our 50th tomorrow 😢

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Small world…So many people don’t know where NH is without looking at a map! My first kiss was with a boy from Danbury. My golden was the best dog. If/when I get another dog it will be a golden…. Probably. Or one of my fosters 🙄 I’m sorry about your first wife. 50 years would have been something to celebrate. Some day you’ll have to tell me what happened… ((Hug)) 😘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was… I met her on a blind date. She was 17 and a senior in high school, I was 20 and a junior in college. 3 years later we were married. 🙂 Lots of good memories 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Join the Conversation